Find out more about the 12 principles of early learning and development.

We have two designated Aistear rooms for our Junior and Senior Infants. Working on a new theme each month they learn new vocabulary, develop their problem solving skills, work as part of a team as well as developing communication and play skills. It is a fabulous resource to have in the school and both teachers and children are really enjoying and gaining from the experience.


Aistear is based on 12 principles of early learning and development.


These are presented in three groups:

1. The first group concerns children and their lives in early childhood:

■ the child’s uniqueness ■ equality and diversity ■ children as citizens.


2. The second group concerns children’s connections with others:

■ relationships ■ parents, family and community ■ the adult’s role.


3. The third group concerns how children learn and develop:

■ holistic learning and development ■ active learning ■ play and hands-on experiences ■ relevant and meaningful experiences ■ communication and language ■ the learning environment.


Aistear: the Early Childhood Curriculum Framework presents children’s learning and development using four themes.

These are:

  • Well-being
  • Identity and Belonging
  • Communicating
  • Exploring and Thinking


Ms. Tynan’s class have explored a lot of different themes this year. Before is a small selection of the fun they have had while developing their vocabulary and extending their social skills.


The Farm

The Airport

People who help us

Houses and Homes

Ms. McInerney’s class had great fun too